SAJC Sires Produce Stakes

SAJC Sires Produce Stakes

The South Australia Jockey Club hosts the state’s Sires Produce Stakes at the Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide each year. Recognised as a Group 3 race, the track comes alive with some of South Australia’s top two-year-olds battling it out over the 1,600 metre event at set-weights.


The SAJC Sires Produce Stakes is the most recent of the challenges to be added to the Australian horse racing calendar. Inaugurated in 1945 with Norwich as the first winner, it was originally a Principal race which was run over eight furlongs. From 1960 until 1965 the SAJC Sires Produce Stakes decreased to seven furlongs but converted back to its original distance in 1966 before officially finding its 1600m structure in 1973.

In 1979 the SAJC Sires Produce Stakes became recognised as a Group 2 race, however after 13 runs was downgraded to Group 3 in 1992 and has remained as such since.

Race Information

Where – Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide

Distance – 1600 metres

Status – Group 3

Race Type – 2YO Open Set Weights

Prize Money – $115,000

2017 SAJC Sires Produce Stakes Field