WATC Sires Produce Stakes

The Western Australia Sires Produce Stakes is held every year at the Ascot Racecourse in Perth by the Western Australia Turf Club. Taking place in April the race draws two-year-olds to compete over the 1,400 metres at set weights for the $250,000 prize money. The Group 3 WATC Sires Produce Stakes often sees horses from the Group 2 Karrakatta Plate (1200m) which is held two weeks prior.


The WATC Sires Produce Stakes was first run in 1911 and saw Florabel take the inaugural win. Originally a Principal race over seven furlongs the race maintained the same format until 1973 when it officially converted to the metric system and was therefore recognised in its current 1400m structure.

For 10 years, between 1980 and 1990, the WATC Sires Produce Stakes was recognised as a Group 2 race before finding its current stature as a Group 3 event in 1991.

Race Information

When – April 15th 2017

2017 WATC Sires Produce Stakes Field

The 2017 WATC Sires Produce Field can be seen below.

WATC Sires Produce Stakes Nominations

Where – Ascot Racecourse, Perth

Distance – 1400 metres

Status – Group 3

Race Type – 2YO Open Set Weights

Stakes – $250 000